Senior Editors

Laura Irei

Laura is a third-year fiction writer in the University of South Carolina’s M.F.A. program and originally hails from Arizona. Her interests include contemporary American fiction and short fiction. Laura graduated Summa Cum Laude from Middlebury College, where she earned a B.A. in English, with highest honors, and a minor in Arabic. She was a 2011 recipient of the Middlebury Student Scholarship at the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference. Laura runs all finances for Yemassee, managing all of our funds and upkeeping our budget so that we can continue to create magic.

Charlie Martin

Charlie is a third-year poet in the U of S.C. M.F.A. program. They emerged from a snowbank in Central Illinois almost three decades ago & have been chasing fire ever since. They earned a B.A. in English literature from Reed College with a focus on French literature and visual art. Their poetry whips wild like a moving target, refusing to be pinned down, just as their own identity thrives in flux. They manage Yemassee‘s social media accounts, the Yemassee website, and they are a bunch of the brains behind Yemassee‘s parties and other events.

Joy Priest

Joy is a writer from Louisville, Kentucky. She is the recipient of the 2016 Hurston/Wright Foundation’s College Writers’ Award, and has received support from the Fine Arts Work Center at Provincetown, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Kentucky Arts Council. She is currently an M.F.A. candidate at U of S.C. where she teaches and serves as Senior Editor for Yemassee Journal. Her poetry and prose has appeared or is upcoming in BlackbirdCallalooDrunken Boat, Third CoastBest New Poets 2014 and 2016, and The Breakbeat Poets: New American Poetry in the Age of Hip-Hop, among others. Joy is our director of operations, managing the administrative obligations that come with maintaining our journal and picking up the slack in times of chaos.

Poetry Editors

Lauren Clark

Lauren is a second-year poet in the M.F.A. program at U of S.C. She holds a M.A. in English with a concentration in creative writing from Auburn University and a B.A. in English and secondary education from Winthrop University. Her research interests range from eighteenth century American literature to contemporary poetry, as well as American and pop culture studies. Lauren oversees poetry submissions.

Catherine Ntube

Catherine is a second-year poet in the U of S.C. M.F.A. program. She holds a B.A. in History and Literature from Harvard University, where she pursued research interests in postcolonial West African literature and colonial and humanitarian history. Prior to starting at U of S.C., she taught elementary and middle school students in NYC. Catherine oversees poetry submissions.

Fiction Editors

Sarah Benal

Sarah is pursuing her M.F.A. in fiction. She received her B.A. from the University of Nebraska in English and International Studies. She was the 2017 Dickey Award Winner for Prose. In her second year of her M.F.A. candidacy, she is working on her novel about growing up in a post-9/11 America. Sarah oversees fiction submissions.

Hannah Ford

Hannah was born and raised in the Midwest and is still getting used to South Carolina’s humidity. As a second-year fiction M.F.A. candidate, she is working on a set of linked shorts stories that center around parent-child relationships. She is also a Shakespeare enthusiast and a hiking buff, but not necessarily in that order. Hannah oversees fiction submissions.

Nonfiction/Reviews Editor

Carlos Gomez Marquez

Carlos is a second-year poet in the M.F.A. program at U of S.C. He dabbles in defamiliarized devotional poetry, as well as anachronistic juxtaposition. Carlos oversees nonfiction submissions and processes reviews.

Layout/Graphic Design Editor

Andrew Green

Andrew is a first-year fiction writer in the M.F.A. program at U. of S.C. and is passionate about his written work, but also a slew of intensive graphic design projects. He oversees the process of laying out the print journal, as well as acting as the aesthetics advisor for the chapbook contest winner’s book cover.